Day 6- Shopping?

28 05 2013

We started our day with breakfast…the same one…one egg, two pieces of toast and an Asian apple pear! I am thankful for good food but I may never eat these foods again when I return home! 6 days and counting of the same food:) (No flaming me….I know some people don’t have any food!) Levi ate like a champ. He had noodles, watermelon, cantaloupe, eggs. It’s hard to believe but he prefers a spoon and fork to chopsticks. I will admit he gets the food in his mouth anyway possible. I am not sure we should frequent fine dining anytime soon:) (HA!)

Our guide asked us to meet her at 10:00am to do some shopping. So, if you know anything about shopping in China, you know that I was so excited about walking through the local markets and buying some local goods. I made a list of people I needed to shop for (mainly five sweet faces from home) and then packed by backpack for the day. As we walked, I told our guide that we had made our way to the local Wal-Mart the night before. She stopped and looked at me and said, “So you already shop?” UUGGHH….she changed directions and then entered the local RT Mart. (Same concept as Wal-Mart) We walked around the store aimlessly. There was nothing there that we had not seen the evening before. We picked up just a few items and then were on our way- BACK to the hotel! Our day was over with the guide…..and we were on our own for the next 48 hours! She informed us that we had a day of rest the next day. “Free day!” she said.

So for the rest of the day, we played in the hotel room. Needless to say, it was a long afternoon. We played every game I could think of and with every toy I packed! We were all a little stir crazy. I am sure some of you are thinking that we should visit the hotel pool. Well, we would love to! BUT…Levi is so tiny that just as soon as you put him in the bathtub he starts to shiver and lips turn blue! The pool is inside and not heated. We do not think it’s a great idea for him to get so cold. We are hoping that the next hotel has an outside pool.

Our time spent with Levi allowed us to see a little more of his personality. He’s such a sweet boy. He loves to walk holding both our hands. He gets very upset if one of us drops his hand. He does have a few “bad” habits. He likes to throw toys. I mean random, out-of-the-blue, for no reason at all! He also like to open, shut, touch, feel, click, move, shake, push, pull EVERYTHING! I KNOW this is just curiosity but let’s be honest….it keeps us on our toes! He has started to repeat many words we say to him. He is just repeating and not using them on his yet! I am sure in time, when he gets around two certain four year old girls, he will start to talk for survival!!

Pray for our “Free Day” tomorrow. Nanchang just is not the type of city that you can stroll down to the local park and play outside for a while! Maybe we will find something to do outside of the four walls of this hotel.

Day 6-Shopping5.27 014Day 6-Shopping5.27 012

Mini-Grace does McDonalds……Yuck…McDonald’s again!

Day 6-Shopping5.27 015

Check out the OREOS….Double flavors in the middle? Have you seen these in the States?

Just hangin’ out with my Daddy!

Day 6-Shopping5.27 002Day 6-Shopping5.27 009Day 6-Shopping5.27 010

He’s a Huber! A San Diego Charger fan ALREADY!(****NOTE: These pictures are for Daddy,  Mac and Uncle Tom!!!)

 

“You are my God, and I will praise you;   you are my God, and I will exalt you.

 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;  his love endures forever.”

Psalm 118:28, 29

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2013
Fliss

Flissy is a BAD girl 🙂 I have been SO busy with Shauna I forgot to look here 🙂 Oh my… this is so exciting and am I jealous of you being in China… why… of course 🙂 Congrats to you all… hugs

28 05 2013
annaclaire07

Little Levi reminds me of another little guy I know whose hands were all over things while in China. Oh, wait. They still are! Overall, though, it looks like he’s having a great transition!

Oh, and sorry for the guide thing. UGH. Your days are sounding LONG.

Pam

Leave a Reply

